You can journey alone, but it's a great deal easier and more fun with friends. So it is with learning. Over the past few years since we discovered we were healthier without gluten, Will and I have journeyed together. We have had the help of friends and organizations to maintain the diet and improve our health.

These are my fav five from my recipe blog:

what foods can be eaten on a gluten-free diet?

It can be overwhelming to think of the long list of foods you can not eat on a gluten-free diet. Good news—lots of foods are naturally gluten-free and are safe to eat. These include:
  • Fruits and Vegetables: fresh, frozen and canned unseasoned fruits and vegetables and their juices
  • Meat and Alternatives: fresh and frozen unseasoned meat, poultry, fish and seafood, eggs, nuts and seeds, dried peas and beans, and tofu
  • Milk and Alternatives: milk, buttermilk, cream, most yogurt (plain, fruited and flavoured), most cheese, cream cheese and cottage cheese (many people who are celiac are unable to digest lactose contained in many milk products because of the damage to their intestines)
  • Naturally gluten-free grains: amaranth, buckwheat, rice, corn (cornmeal, corn grits), fava, flaxseed, garbanzo bean (chickpea, besan, gram or channa), hominy, hominy grits, kasha (toasted buckwheat), millet,  quinoa, rice, sago, and tapioca
  • Bread: made from gluten-free grains and free of other gluten-containing ingredients
  • Pasta: made from rice, beans, corn, potato, quinoa, soy, wild rice and other GF grains
  • Cold cereals: puffed corn, amaranth, buckwheat, millet or rice, rice flakes and soy cereals (check the ingredients for malt flavouring which is NOT gluten-free)
  • Hot cereals: hominy grits, soy grits, cream of buckwheat, cream of rice, puffed amaranth, rice flakes, quinoa flakes and soy flakes
  • Rice: brown, white, basmati, jasmine or wild rice
  • Corn or rice tortillas (check the ingredients!)
  • Fats & Oils: butter, margarine, vegetable oil, lard, shortening, and cream
  • Desserts: cakes, cookies and pastries made from GF flours, many ice creams, sherbet, sorbet, popsicles, whipped toppings, egg custards, and gelatin desserts
  • Candy: GF licorice, most hard candies and many chocolate bars
  • Beverages: cocoa drinks, soft drinks, juices, most non-dairy alternatives including soy, rice, potato and nut beverages (check labels for malt flavouring), teas, coffee and distilled alcoholic beverages such as rum, gin,  vodka, wines and pure liquors, and GF beer, ale and lager
  • Sweeteners: honey, jams, jellies, marmalade, molasses, corn syrup, maple syrup, and sugar (white, brown, confectioner’s in Canada. Some countries use wheat flour in icing sugar)
  • Snack Foods: plain popcorn, some potato chips, some corn chips, nuts, soy nuts, rice cakes, corn cakes, rice crackers
  • Common baking ingredients: pure cocoa, baking chocolate, chocolate chips, carob chips and powder, cream of tartar, baking soda, yeast, brewer’s yeast, aspartame, vanilla
  • Condiments: salad dressings free of gluten-containing ingredients, plain pickles, relish, olives, ketchup, mustard, tomato paste, pure herbs and spices, pure black pepper, GF soy sauce, vinegars (all but malt vinegar are GF)
  • Soups, Sauces and Gravies: homemade broths, GF bouillon cubes, cream soups and stocks made from allowed ingredients, sauces and gravies made from allowed ingredients

what foods may contain possible sources of gluten?

Here is a list of foods that may contain possible sources of gluten, so it’s important to read the ingredients list carefully and/or contain the manufacturer to ensure the product is in fact gluten-free.
  • Dried fruits (dates) may be dusted with oat flour
  • Meat marinades and flavourings may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein and wheat based soy sauce
  • Whole turkey may be basted or injected with broth
  • Meat extenders and vegetarian meat substitutes
  • Deli meats, hot dogs, sausages and imitation seafood products
  • Baked beans
  • Seasoned nuts
  • Flavoured tofu may contain wheat based soy sauce
  • Malted milk
  • Cheese sauces, cheese spreads, and flavoured cheese
  • Barley, bulgur, couscous, dinkel, durum, einkorn, emmer, farina, farro or faro, fu, kamut, malt, oats (most commercial brands, oat bran, oat syrup), orzo, rye, spelt, triticale, wheat and wheat berries
  • Cereal binding, chapatti flour (atta), durum, gluten flour, graham flour, matzoh meal, oat bran, seltan (also known as “wheat meat”), semolina, wheat bran, wheat germ, and wheat starch
  • Products made with buckwheat as buckwheat is occasionally blended with wheat flour in baking mixed
  • Cereals may contain barley malt flavouring or barley malt extract
  • Seasoned or flavoured rice mixes and rice pilafs
  • Icing and frosting
  • Some ice creams are made with gluten-containing ingredients like cookie dough, brownies, waffles cone pieces, etc.
  • Chocolate bars and candy may contain malt flavouring or wheat flour. Most common brands of licorice contain wheat flour
  • Cocoa drinks may contain malt or malt flavouring (e.g. Ovaltine and Postum at NOT gluten-free)
  • Some coffee substitutes are made from gluten-containing ingredients.
  • Flavoured alcoholic beverages (e.g. ciders and coolers) may have gluten-containing ingredients.
  • Almost all undistilled alcoholic beverages (beer, lager and ale) contain gluten. Only those specially made to be GF may be safely consumed.
  • Seasoned and flavoured varieties may contain hydrolyzed wheat protein, wheat flour, or wheat starch
  • Some brands of plain potato chips or potato crisps are made with wheat flour or wheat starch
  • Major brands of baking powder are GF, others may contain wheat starch
  • Salad dressings may be made with soy sauce.
  • Soy sauce is typically made with wheat.
  • Teriyaki sauce is typically made with soy sauce, wheat flour, wheat starch or hydrolyzed wheat protein.
  • Malt vinegar
  • Some brands of Worcestershire sauce contain malt vinegar
  • Most commercially produced soups and broths contain hydrolyzed wheat protein (MSG) or wheat flour
Adapted from The Gluten-Free Diet: An Update for Health Professionals (September 2006) and Case, Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide, 2006 (29). from SaveOn Foods website!

Another amazing source of articles, diet help and more is
If you love recipe blogs I have really enjoyed Gluten Free Girl, Gluten Free Gobsmacked
Finally a company has come out with amazing bread products. See if you can get Udi's bread where you live.